A recap for my English speaking friends. I joint a 10-day Meditation course in Pokhara, Nepal. It is a taught from Buddha but no religious was bonded. No matter where you come from and which religious you believe in, anyone could join. However, there are some very tough regulation like no phone is allowed and complete silence.

During my 10 days Vipassana meditation course, one of the most difficult part I assume was the rule of Complete Silence. I couldn’t have any connection with anyone including people around me and the outsiders. I thought it would be super boring. But i turns out the easiest and most enjoyable part!

I discover that I have so many “me” in my head. So many voices inside myself during my ordinary life.

You have to talk with people around you!

 

You should keep quiet and observe!

 

Time to plan your next days!

And I even have a “CD Player” in my head indicating when the memories I was thinking of / solving happened during meditation!

In fact, during this period, without any contact or even writing any note / diary, the voices are less and less. My true inner voice comes back loudly and clearer! I could identify it easily! There are too many sayings that “listen to your inner voice”; “Follow your heart”. But… which one is my inner voice and where is my heart? How to communicate with them?

Inner voice is the voice from heart. And I have a very true experience that my inner voice is not perfect. “She” will get confusion, too! She also needs time and space to figure out what is happening and what is the best choice to “us”. So, not only “me” time is important. Get away from social life and not even meeting any new friend are also crucial to give some time for our inner-self / inner child to recharge and tidy up.

During this noble silence time, I am much more sensitive. And not only me! I am so lucky to meet my classmates that everyone are more respect to the others in all details. We minimised our action / gesture / words and even spaces we needed. We helped each other in small act like turning on/off the light, open/close the door…etc. Even though we didn’t smile or do any greeting, we did a lot with small act and self discipline.

A lesson for me here is, sometimes words really bring misunderstanding. We already have too many assumption… we think too much! With words, we need to spend lots of energy to “show” our “kindness” to the others but sometimes we forgot to see the truth behind. Try to be quiet. Keep still and see the action. See and feel what happen with a quiet mind. We judge afterwards.

This is also love and compassion, which is the core of Vipassana/ Dharma.


 

If you are interested in Vipassana, please read this book, “The art of living: Vipassana Meditation“.

However, Vipassana means “as it is”. It is recommended to taste it as the experience and learning are so different. Please try to take the ten-day course. There are centres in different country and the course itself is exactly the same. It is free and run by donation (please do donate afterwards!). Please refer to their website: https://www.dhamma.org/


 

I have written other articles in Chinese:

